

Dear Helmholtz postdoctoral researchers and colleagues,

We are excited to announce that the

Helmholtz Association Postdoc Network (HAPN)

has officially launched!

HAPN was founded to unite postdoctoral researchers across all Helmholtz Centers, enabling us to address key challenges in today's evolving scientific landscape, foster collaboration, and advance postdoc career development. To learn more about HAPN, please visit our <u>website</u> or reach out to <u>Fiona</u> Brown-Burke or Aga Seretny who are your HAPN representatives at DKFZ.

This journey would not have been possible without the dedicated efforts of the team of peers who authored the HAPN proposal, laying the groundwork for this transformative initiative. We extend our sincere gratitude to each member of the proposal team for making this opportunity a reality.

Vision and Mission

HAPN is built on a clear vision and purpose. Our vision is to create amongst peers a collaborative, inclusive network that empowers postdocs and supports their contributions to the Helmholtz Association's strategic goals. Our mission is to provide a supportive environment for us postdocs to reach our full potential in our research and career, promote a transparent and positive work culture, and foster community-building across all Helmholtz Centers.

Kick-Off

On November 5th and 6th, 2024, **31 postdoctoral researchers, representing 17 of the 18 Helmholtz Centers**, gathered in Berlin for HAPN's kick-off event. We were honored by the presence of the President of the Helmholtz Association, Prof. Dr. Otmar Wiestler, whose supportive and candid words highlighted HAPN's value within Helmholtz.

At this meeting, we laid the foundation for HAPN's organizational structure and established three working groups, each focused on distinct aspects of the network's development:

Communications – Responsible for fostering open communication within HAPN and with the broader Helmholtz community, ensuring postdocs stay informed about resources, initiatives, and relevant developments.

Networking – Focused on building connections and organizing events that support collaboration and knowledge-sharing across institutes including career centers and Helmholtz Juniors (HeJus), as well as connecting with external organizations like the Max Planck, Leibniz, and other German postdoc networks.

Perspectives – Committed to enhancing the postdoc experience by advocating for fruitful career pathways, effective development opportunities, and transparent standards across Helmholtz Centers.

To ensure inclusive representation and effective leadership, we have formed a **Steering Committee** and an **Executive Board**. The Steering Committee includes two postdoc representatives from each Helmholtz Center, ensuring that diverse perspectives are heard. Our Executive Board consists of three spokespeople, two coordinators from each working group, a treasurer, and a secretary, facilitating overall workings and internal communication.

We warmly invite all Helmholtz postdocs to become active members of HAPN!

Participation is open to everyone, and you do not need to be a member of the Steering Committee to get involved. Please <a href="mailto:emailt

Thank you for your attention and solidarity as we embark on this exciting journey to build a strong, connected, and supportive network for all Helmholtz postdocs.

Best regards,

Your Postdoc Reps on behalf of the Helmholtz Association Postdoc Network (HAPN)

hapn contact@listserv.dfn.de



Postdoctoral researchers forming the HAPN Steering Committee for 2024-2025. November 6th 2024, Max Delbrück Center (MDC) – Berlin, Germany

From left to right:

Back row — Vojtech Kulvait (Hereon), Nico Madysa (GSI), Max Kellermeier (DESY-Hamburg), Aparna Chandrasekar (UFZ), Filippos Charitidis (MDC), Iyiola Emmanuel Olatunji (CISPA), Jonas Schulte-Schrepping (DZNE), Anna Vetter (HZI), Javier Garcia Lopez (HMGU-Munich), Alexandra Runge (GFZ), Vanessa Skiba (AWI), Krisztina Konya (FZJ), Oriol Sans Planell (HZB)

Middle row – Erich Hirschmann (HZDR), Paul Einhaüpl (RIFS), Franz Kanngießer (GEOMAR), Aditya Shekhar (HZI), Stefan Paulusch (DZNE)

Front row – Michelle Tsirou (DESY-Zeuthen), Anrea Clavijo (Hereon), Kubilay Dogan Kilic (HMGU Munich), Rhys Jacob (FZJ), Diana Avadanii (KIT), Maddalena Zoli (HZB), Katharina Pank (GEOMAR), Aga Seretny (DKFZ), Fiona Brown-Burke (DKFZ), Mariantonia Costanza (MDC), Ruta Binkyte (CISPA), Yamini Yogya (UFZ)

Not depicted – Bennet Juhls (AWI), Ali Pourzangbar (KIT)

